Thought of the week (4/12/2015-4/18/2015)

“My son [or daughter], peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment;And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes” (D&C 121:7-8)

What does endure mean? remain in existence; last

Everyone has something somewhere to endure: school, work, losing a family member, raising a child, etc. As long as you are still breathing you’re enduring. When one is enduring something well, they are making the best out what they have, they are turning to the Lord to be happy. One does not have to suffer while enduring well. There is pain, there is hurt, there is sorrow but there is not suffering, because that has already been done. All we have to do, to not suffer, is to endure it well. Turning to the Lord through scripture, prayer, church, anything you can do to turn to Him is enduring it well.

Recently, it was my grandma’s birthday and I realized that I miss her like crazy. But I realized something else… Four years ago I lost 2 people very close to me within a couple months, and I suffered, I hurt, I didn’t think it would end because I didn’t endure it well, I just endured. This last Christmas break I lost two very important people in my life, my aunt and my grandma. But it didn’t hurt as much, it hurt, but I didn’t suffer, I didn’t lose hope, I didn’t lose my ground. The only reason I didn’t lose hope was because I had learned to study my scriptures daily, pray daily (or all the time), to turn to my Savior at all times. I had developed a relationship with my Savior well enough that when I got the news I didn’t have to hurt, I didn’t forget the Plan of HAPPINESS, I didn’t suffer. I knew He was there, I knew He loved me, and I knew He had a plan for me.

Everyone endures, everyone has hard times, but not everyone endures it well. Enduring it well is a blessing with blessings attached. You know your Savior deeper, you know the Plan for you better, you understand the Plan of Happiness, you know hope. Along with that, you are able to live with your Father in Heaven and Savior, Jesus Christ again in the same kingdom they live in.

You choose your happiness, choose to endure it well.

Leave a Reply

