A disciple of Christ (October 24, 2016)

This week I have learned quite a bit of what it means to be a disiple of Christ.

So I will start with what happen with Anderson and Andreza. So every Tuesday and Thursday we go and teach them. Tuesday we went and taught them about Repentence and Baptism. It was amazing and we marked a baptism date with them for December 3rd! (they have to get married before the get baptized) And then  we went and visited them on Thursday and taught about the spirit and enduring to the end. Andreza who doesnt talk too much told us about an experience she had Wednesday when someone asked her what church she went to and she told them the mormon church and he started talking bad about it and told her that it was cult. She said she got really sad but she told them she knew it was true and that it was where she needed to be. She said it was true no matter what people say about it.We must have a sure testimony of the Church and ALWAYS stand as a witness of Christ in all times.

Friday I had the opportunity to give a training on the email that President Silva sent us. He talked about how the work in some areas was getting done right because there are lazy missionaries and they are more worried about themselves then other things.  I started thinking about this topic alot and I realized that it was a lack of understand the Atonement. I read a quote by President Howard W Hunter that says this,”What does the Atonement have to do with missionary work? Any time we experience the blessings of the Atonement in our lives, we cannot help but have a concern for the welfare of others. A great indicator of one’s personal conversion is the desire to share the gospel with others.” (“The Atonement and Missionary Work,” seminar for new mission presidents, June 1994). This is so true… And I want to share a scripture with you from D&C 19,

 15 Therefore I command you to repent—repent, lest I smite you by the rod of my mouth, and by my wrath, and by my anger, and your sufferings be sore—how sore you know not, how exquisite you know not, yea, how hard to bear you know not.

 16 For behold, I, God, have suffered these things for all, that they might not suffer if they would repent;

 17 But if they would not repent they must suffer even as I;

 18 Which suffering caused myself, even God, the greatest of all, to tremble because of pain, and to bleed at every pore, and to suffer both body and spirit—and would that I might not drink the bitter cup, and shrink—

 19 Nevertheless, glory be to the Father, and I partook and finished my preparations unto the children of men.

Christ already has done His part we need to make sure that as members of His church we do what is necessary so that people know about His Atonement and His part.

On Saturday the Branch did a cool activity where we went to the park here in Biguaçu and and we gave out Liahonas and invited people to learn more. It was sooo cool seeing the members work together to give out more that 70 Liahonas.

Sunday was particulary hard. Church was amazing but we went knocking doors after lunch and every one was pretty rude with us. We got to one house and finally someone wanted us to teach her and she said it would be better to teach her outside so we started and her brother came out and started cussing us out and talking really bad about the church, the Book of Mormon and about what we believe and the sister just told us that it would be better if we just left so that he would stop and so we said goodbye and went on our way. I was feeling particularly sad for her and for him because they both dont know the joy that comes from the gospel and I pray so much that they have another opportunity to accept the gospel. I was pretty sad but then I was thinking that it isn’t suppose to be easy, I read a quote by Elder Holland that said the following, “I am convinced that missionary work is not easy because salvation is not a cheap experience. Salvation was never easy. We are the church of Jesus Christ. This is the truth. He is our great eternal head. Why would we think that ist would be easy for us- when it was never ever easy for Him. In turn, how could we possibly bear any moving, lasting testimony of the Atonement if we have never known or felt anything of such an experience. As missionaries we are proud to say that we are disciples of Christ, and we are, but mark my word, that means that you must be prepared to walk something of the the path that He walked. To feel something- something, a little, of the pain that He felt. To at least occasionally-sometime on your mission, shed one of the tears of sorrow that He shed. If the missionaries can come to love and appreciate it, the Atonement will carry them. Let them know that when they struggle, when they are rtejected, and spit upon, they are standing shoulder and shoulder with the best life this world has ever known. The only pure and perfect missionary that ever lived. They have every reason to stand tall and and be grateful  that the Savior and Redeemer of the world knows all about their sorrows and their afflictions, and for amoment or two in their lives, they will understand what He went through for them.” I am grateful to be amissionary. I grateful that I am worthy to be rejected in the name of the Savior. I know He lives and loves us..

Sorry about the novel but  I love you all.

Sister Ogle

Leave a Reply

